The Art Of Photography

20140115-155230.jpg “The Art of Photography” podcast is researched, written, produced, funded, managed and enthusiastically presented by the inspirational Ted Forbes. All for free and for no other reason other than he is passionate about photography and teaching. This passion is obvious in everything he releases and he clearly enjoys doing it. I have no affiliation with Ted, other than being a keen follower and supporter of what he does, and how he does it.

The podcast itself is weekly and available via the normal means, iTunes, YouTube, or direct from the website that supports the show and which is an invaluable source of reference to the topics, books, equipment and anything else discussed in the show.

In addition to the podcast Ted produces vlogs, master classes, audio shows and more. Upon discovering the podcast I did little else during my commute for weeks and weeks but to stare  transfixed at my iPad. With headphones on oblivious to the world around me whilst I caught up on all previous episodes and listened to The Photography show; an audio podcast co hosted with Wade Griffith, a close Friend of Teds and a professional photographer.

If like me you have an interest in photography then this podcast and the other content Ted produces is in my opinion not to be missed. There are many others that cover the topic of photography, but none of then achieve what the Art of photography achieves.

I consider myself to be a keen amateur, and have been rewarded with the occasional success in forum competitions and the photography club at work. I have also had the privilege of having some of my photographs published in the EOS Magazine on a few occasions.

The Art of Photography podcasts bring something very different from the reams of YouTube videos, kit reviews and how-to videos and podcasts that are available. Please don’t get me wrong, there is a great deal of quality content out there, and I rarely make a purchase without watching numerous hands on video reviews.

Teds podcasts, as well as providing well thought out, accurate information, tips, ideas and knowledge, bring inspiration and motivation. They have also for me personally brought a new aspect to photography that I hadn’t contemplated, nor associated with what I was doing or trying to achieve with my photography, from both a technical point of view and a philosophical perspective.

His in depth and well researched shows that review and discuss the work of famous photographers are especially interesting and offer an in site into a broader aspect of photography, and its development (excuse the pun)

You can’t help but to feed from Teds enthusiasm, experience and knowledge. He offers opinions, which I have no doubt, on occasion, differ from those of some in his audience but which are delivered in such a way as to make you challenge your own thinking, not to conflict with it. Surely a good thing if you want to grow and progress with your understanding of a subject and certainly something that I welcome.

Ted uses some great software, apps and services too, some of which help to sponsor the show. These recommendations and suggestions again have added interest, fun and productivity to my life, the fact I am writing this blog, and have my own website are due entirely to my discovering the “Art of Photography” podcast, and Teds recommendations. I’m now an avid user of WordPress, Squarespace, Audible and Pintrest to name just a few.

Well, I think I have rambled on enough for now. Suffice to say that I think I have made it clear that I am a fan. I thoroughly recommend and I hope that you take a visit to The Art of Photography and see what’s on offer. You won’t regret it.

One thought on “The Art Of Photography

Leave a Reply

